Monday, December 17, 2018

Surviving rejection letter after rejection letter... why do I go on?

See the source image

The title does seem a bit melodramatic, doesn't it? At the moment, I feel that way. It might be twenty years I've done this, but every rejection cuts like a small knife. Now don't get me wrong, I know this comes with the territory. Even Stephen King got rejection letters. I tell that to all the authors I meet that relate their tales of woe.

It still doesn't make it any easier. I take a few hours to wallow in pity, while I wonder if I should just quit. But then I realize I write because I want to, not because I plan on getting rich. I write in hopes that a small number of people enjoy my adventures. I also write to keep my brain strong. With a chronic disease, I must keep my brain striving for more. I need more words, more phrases, and some days, it is just hard to think of simple words.

But that is why I continue. I write not just for potential fans. I write for my health. So, with every rejection letter, I grow stronger. I might not remember characters from my early books, but I strive to create more that will entertain my brain in the future.

This rejection letter was actually helpful and gave more information than the usual "Thanks, but no thanks" formality. I will go back to my manuscript and tweak. I can only do what I can do, but I will enjoy doing it.

And I will keep looking for something positive each day. I won't back down and maybe someday my work will end up in the hands of someone who loves it as much as me.

Write on!

Monday, December 3, 2018

A Girl's Guide to Time Travel made the LONG LIST for Chanticleer's Ozma award!

I survived the slush pile!! Quite a few months ago, I entered my traditionally published book, A Girl's Guide to Time Travel, into a contest. I did some research and came across the Chanticleer Awards and thought it worth taking a chance. I've never entered Time Travel into a contest before. I chose to enter the Ozma Contest that is geared toward the fantasy genre. Today, I just checked to see if any results were posted and I just saw my book has made it from the slush pile to the Long List.

I never expected to make even this first list, so I am tickled pink! I'm really not expecting to move forward, so thought I'd take this chance to toot my own horn for the day.

You can read the full article here:

These titles have moved forward in the judging rounds from SLUSH pile to the 2018 Long List (aka the Slush Pile Survivors). We incorporate the Long List when the judges request an additional round of judging to accommodate the number and/or quality of entries received.  These entries are now in competition for the 2018 OZMA SHORT LIST. The Short Listers will compete for the Semi-Finalists positions.
The coveted First  Place Category Winners of the 2018 OZMA Book Awards will be selected from the Semi-Finalists in the final rounds of judging.  The First Place Category Winners will be announced at the Chanticleer Awards Banquet and Ceremony. 
The First Place Category winners will automatically be entered into the OZMA GRAND PRIZE AWARD competition.  The 16 CBR Grand Prize Genre Winners will compete for the CBR Overall Grand Prize for Best Book and its $1,000 purse. First Place Category and Grand Prize Awards will be announced and recognized at the Chanticleer Awards Banquet and Ceremony on Saturday, April 27th, 2019, Bellingham, Washington.
These titles are in the running for the SHORT LIST of the 2018 OZMA Book Awards novel competition for Fantasy Fiction.

The following works have made it to the 2018  OZMA Book Awards Long List:

  • Pamela LePage – Virtuous Souls
  • J.V. Rutz – The Illusion Killer
  • Megan Wong – Island Whispers
  • Allan Batchelder – Steel, Blood & Fire
  • Ea Bishop – RAGNAROK: Demon Seed
  • Daryl Ellerbe – The Amazons
  • Kristin Secorsky – Dragon Chosen: The Dragon Riders of Eryieth
  • Paul E. Vaughn – Luminess Legends: Dragon Ascendants
  • Kathleen Neeley – Master None
  • David M. Jarboe – Realm Portals “The Celtic Otherworld”
  • M.K Williams – The Phoenix Chronicles: Alone in the Light
  • Jennifer Allis Provost – Gallowglass
  • T.K. Riggins – Money Jane
  • Susan Faw – Heart Of Shadra
  • Glen Shipherd – Infinity – Rulers
  • Franklin Posner – Suburban Vampire Ragnarok
  • Nancy Guild Bendall – Nethermost Regained
  • Anthony Nordvik-Nash – Hedda Stein-Sun’s UnRemembered Islands
  • Nancy Guild Bendall – Nethermost Regained
  • Elana A. Mugdan – Dragon Speaker
  • Elizabeth Crowens – Silent Meridian
  • Lindsay Schopfer – Into the North: A Keltin Moore Adventure
  • M. K. Wiseman – The Kithseeker
  • Miriam Cumming – Namesakes
  • Penny Pearson – A Girl’s Guide to Time Travel
  • Chris Dews – Antler Jinny and the Raven
  • Philip Carlisle – Surviving Eros: Heart of Phire
  • D.M. Cain – A Chronicle of Chaos
To view the 2017 OZMA Book Awards winners, please click here.
The OZMA Grand Prize Winner and the First Place Category Position award winners will be announced at the April 27th, 2019 Chanticleer Book Awards Annual Awards Gala, which takes place at the Chanticleer Authors Conference that will be held in Bellingham, Wash.